Drawing Cannibals after a Divine Comedy scene

October 22, 2012

Ashamed as I am by the blatant imperfections of this most recent drawing of mine I couldn’t help submitting it here, in the end, all praying the critique will ensue mildly. With studies demanding most of my otherwise highly distributive attention and the perpetual pursuit of one of those whimsical goals (reading over 100 books until the New Year’s Eve) consuming the rest of my remaining time no wonder the above composition is rather hastily made and clearly wronged in several places. Nevertheless, I hope it brings the sense of tension which first fascinated me upon embarking the little project. Shadows are not enough emphasized and one buttock needs urgent repairing but I fancy it decently reassembles Bouguereau‘s men from ‘Dante And Virgil In Hell’. It’s a mere imitation, though; the original’s far more dramatic and infinitely more powerful in its effects on the viewer, there’s no denying that. Yet I seem to helplessly desire molding with my own fingers a character, a movement, a curve, a shade I like gazing. Whenever I recreate one I feel connected to it in a way beyond an observer’s range since, through the process, I come closer to understanding the artist’s vision regarding the work and the many subtleties of the work itself. As a secondary author, my senses indicate, I’m indirectly part of the act of creation which produces the praised masterpiece. But we’re entering tedious territory now.
What do you think about the above charcoal on paper thingy? These two cannibals are sort of alluring, don’t you believe? I remember being intrigued by them when I first saw Bouguereau’s painting at the Orsay Museum… Does it least capture a tint of the original’s appeal?

3 Responses to “Drawing Cannibals after a Divine Comedy scene”


  1. i’ve gotten through the 5 newest posts, and i’m lovin’ it! i’ve really enjoyed your blog.


  2. did you really draw that? I know it’s a copy after French chappy, but I think that’s an absolutely brilliant bit of drawing, very accomplished. Very impressed: well done.


    • Indeed, it’s my own piece of work. Thank you for the appreciations, though I wouldn’t go as far as to call it a “brilliant bit” of drawing with those very poignant flaws…


cat got your fingers? then type something!

