Allegory of the Senses

March 10, 2012

A rare collaboration between two prodigious artists, Jean Bruegel the Eldest and Peter Paul Rubens, “the Allegory of the Senses” was a collection of five paintings representing Sight, Smell, Taste, Hearing and Touch in a manner few succeeded to depict, somehow reassembling the famous La Dame à la licorne French  tapestries. The works were commissioned by the Spanish regents of Holland, the Archduke Albert and Archduchess Isabella.

Sight, 1619


Smell, 1618


Touch, 1617


Taste, 1618


Hearing, 1617-1918



cat got your fingers? then type something!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: