Happy 159 years to Oscar Wilde!

October 16, 2013

I only celebrate the birth of artists who, through the utterly sublime value of their work, make me think of  them as being still alive at the other end of the reader-writer wire, continuing infinitely to transmit a message, an idea, an aesthetic truth beyond a tomb’s earthly limit. Really. And dear boy Oscar Wilde’s just the persona to illustrate my idea of immortal writer.

His “Picture of Dorian Gray”, a flabbergasting compilation of epigrams brilliantly woven with the actual plot, was the object of my first genuine literary infatuation after finishing Homer’s heavy Iliad and has continued inciting my imagination ever since. Needless to confess I can’t eschew reading it least once a year and am actually unable to expel it from my frequent-comparison-terms list (together with David’s Michelangelo and Virginia Woolf’s Orlando).  Its amaranthine aspects keep exerting a seemingly imperishable fascination which I always invariably bite. The wit, the beauty, the whole philosophy of dandyism and vanity in a decadent age: my pronounced affinity for them all has rendered my senses, well, sensible to Oscar’s only novel although I’m perfectly aware plenty other books surpass it in their overall value. Alas (or perhaps not), I am a voluntary victim of Dorian Gray’s witchery.

But enough about the creation: I say happy birthday to the marvelous wordsmith Wilde perfectly embodied and especially to the shrewd observer, the keen intellectual, the lobster-walker, the astute social animal and incorrigible fop coexisting within his fleshly borders. So incredible a man as he deserves the most bona fide greeting on these anniversary days despite being, physically, a mere pile of bones devoid of the possibility of hearing them. However, I wouldn’t refrain from wishing the man a formally expressed “happy birthday” before his tomb in Père Lachaise Cemetery (an occasion I’ve simply missed the last time I’ve been to Paris). There’s something very captivating in paying your compliments to a beloved author before their grave and I’m planning on capturing a drop of the respective feeling with the post you’re currently reading.

To commemorate Wilde I’m dedicating today to watching all the ‘Picture of Dorian Gray’ movies ever made and contriving a top of related subjects I could write about here. Nothing grand or equally off-the-wall to his deeds, unfortunately, but rather a good, valid excuse to do what I’ve been yearning to for a while now. What can I say: nice justification, a dead man’s 158th birthday… :)

Ah, and furthermore exploiting the occasion, I’d like heading what’s (if any) your relationship with the defunct yet still lively Oscar; associations, opinions, life stories, practically all you’re kind enough to share.

5 Responses to “Happy 159 years to Oscar Wilde!”


  1. really impressed! looking forward to more! <

  2. aubrey Says:

    My dear Aubrey Beardsley never got on with Oscar Wilde – he wanted to translate Salome into English and was right miffed when the honor was given to Bosie – but that didn’t stop him from illustrating that work most magnificently.

    I love ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ too – such beautiful decadence! I could listen to Lord Henry talk all day.

  3. SwittersB Says:

    Very adept ‘wordsmithing’ yourself Madame!

  4. Austin Starr Says:

    I love Oscar Wilde. He was truly heroic. He died in abject poverty in France, altho his former lover had tens of thousands of pounds and could so easily have helped him. Some of my favorite quotes are from Oscar, esp ‘No good deed goes unpunished’ and ‘consistency is the refuge of small minds.’ How wonderful that you love and honor him too! thanks for posting.


cat got your fingers? then type something!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 967 other followers

