Madame de Pique for Blog of the Year?

December 20, 2012

Blimey, the telescope of my anticipation hasn’t seen that coming and, both perplexed and unprepared, I can merely respond with some petty albeit sincere “thank you”s to the one who was thoughtful enough to nominate me: the witty Dauphine over at Tiaras and Trianon (a place you really need to visit when in the mood to be swept away by the tiara frenzy).

Getting a star for “blog of the year” has utterly come as a pleasant surprise, the sort only the festive interlude between St. Nicholas and Christmas can bring, and, well, if this post’s downright meager, the only excuse I feel no remorse to forward is that I was just overwhelmed by today’s program. I hate it, I concomitantly despise whining but life’s life, versatile and often gushing unexpectedly.

Now, getting to the matter-of-fact stuff, here are the 6 mundane rules the award comes with:

1 -Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2- Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3- Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award  and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 -Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

5- You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

6- As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

After a moment’s hesitation, I decided it’s beyond my power of control to refrain from retouching the badge. I don’t intend to offend anyone, but, with my blog’s theme color, it would be terribly unaesthetic to display the gold and red they propose near so much pink. Apologies being expressed, behold the altered award logo:

blog-award

And for the majestic end, a list of blogs I consider have managed splendidly this year:

Life Takes Lemons

The Pragmatic Costumer

Saints, Sisters and Sluts

Of course there are a lot more, but these 3 in particular have made my evening delight for quite a while and I feel they’re most deserving to thus receive their rightful recognition.

So thank you and congratulations to the elected trio,

Madame de Pique

***

Amendment: since I’ve last written this post, a minor change knocked to Madame’s virtual door, awarding her an extra star from the lady of the Life Takes Lemons, Susan Ardelie. Hence a new array of gratitude expressions needs to be forwarded: merci et beaucoup de félicitations for least a change of language!

4 Responses to “Madame de Pique for Blog of the Year?”

  1. Susan Ardelie Says:

    Congratulations! And thanks for giving a star to Life Takes Lemons. I’ve been enjoying your blog too and am sending a second star your way: http://lifetakeslemons.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/running-after-blog-of-the-year-with-bonbons-in-hand/

    The change you made to the award – so much better than the original. I am not entirely thrilled to have red and gold on my sidebar either.


  2. why, thank you for the distinction, Susan! most grateful I am :) (plus, happy to hear I’m not the only one circumspect about the original badge)

  3. Liz Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this honor with me! I much prefer your pink version, as the award now compliments your blog beautifully (the original is rather garish). You were exceptionally prolific this year and I hope you continue your artistic endeavors.
    And writing about Sisi. I adore that wild, beautiful woman.


    • thank you, liz! I do feel it was a nice time for blogging, although I’ve no term of comparison giving the fact that it also coincides with my first year of wordpress activity, but I’m glad to have made these connections with other bloggers like yourself, whose work I really relish reading.


cat got your fingers? then type something!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 928 other followers

